Tuesday, June 06, 2023
Log in or create a new MyGrange account
Keyword / Search: 


Agriculture / Conservation News
Agriculture Award Winners Announced

By Janet Healey, State Agriculture Director

  DECEMBER 2007 -- The first year for this Agriculture Committee has ended.  We have worked to make it relevant, and now will be working to build on this base.  The Connecticut State Grange Session was the focus of our latest efforts.  We were proud of our two families that were chosen as our Farmers of the Year.  Mr. Myron Avery of Somers was the recipient of the Outstanding Farmer nomination.  Mr. Avery, a dairy farmer and much more, was nominated by Stafford Grange #1 with an outstanding recommendation by Marliese Furness, Treasurer of the Grange.
The second award for Outstanding Production Farmer went to the Hermonot Family (Richard, Elena, and Jonathan) of Moosup who raise turkeys among other ventures.  The Hermonots were nominated by Jody Cameron, Master of Ekonk Community Grange #89 in an equally well written nomination.
The Agriculture Contest, which involved raising ornamental corn and presenting it in a table or door decoration, was also part of the agriculture program.  The winners of this contest in the adult division were (1) Janice Wells of Bozrah, (2) Jane Miller of Cheshire, and (3) Janet Healy of Litchfield.  In the Junior Division, the winners were (1) Andrew Molodich, (2) Jacob Gervais and (3) Katie Molodich.  All of these young persons were from Ekonk Community Jr. Grange.
The Agriculture Committee also gave certificates to the following Granges or Pomonas for submitting agriculturally related resolutions:  Mountain County Pomona #4, Manchester Grange #31, and Litchfield Grange #107.  The Agriculture Committee submitted two resolutions of its own.


© 2023 The Connecticut State Grange. All Rights Reserved.